Harmanpreet Singh Leads Hockey India’s Men’s Team for April Tour of Australia 2024

Hockey India revealed on Monday the 27-member Indian men’s team, led by captain Harmanpreet Kaur, for the forthcoming Australia tour, which begins April 6 in Perth.

Hardik Singh, a midfielder, has been assigned as Harmanpreet’s deputy for the five-match series, which will serve as a litmus test for the team as they prepare for the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Craig Fulton, the coach of the Indian men’s hockey team, has selected a formidable lineup for the upcoming matches against world No. 5 Australia. The tour will prepare the Paris-bound players well before the coach selects the 16-member squad for the quadrennial apex.

This will be a very important tour for us because it will not only determine our current level and where we want to improve ahead of the Paris Olympics, but it will also be an important tournament for the players.

We elected to go with practically the complete core group so that each player has an equal opportunity to demonstrate their full talent, and it is also a fantastic tour to try new combinations, Fulton said in a statement.

“Playing against a team like Australia, who are a potential podium finisher in Paris, would be both hard and enriching due to the level of competition they bring to the game. It will be an excellent exposure trip, and we are looking forward to it,” he said.

The team will begin playing matches on April 6, with the second encounter on April 7, followed by matchups on April 10, 12, and 13.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the Australia Tour:

Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, PR Sreejesh, and Suraj Karkera. Defenders include Harmanpreet Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Sanjay, Sumit, and Amir Ali.


Midfielders include Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, and Vishnukant Singh.

Forwards: Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mohammed Raheel Mouseen, Boby Singh Dhami, and Araijeet Singh Hundal.

Who is the captain of the Indian hockey team in the FIH Pro League?

Captain Harmanpreet Singh scored twice for the visitors. The Indian men’s hockey squad will meet the Netherlands on Sunday. The Indian men’s hockey team began its FIH Pro League 2023-24 season with a 4-1 victory over Spain on Saturday at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

Who makes up the India hockey team for the Pro League?

The defensive line consists of Harmanpreet, Amit Rohidas, Jarmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Sumit, Sanjay, Jugraj Singh, and Vishnukant Singh. Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Rajkumar Pal, Nilakanta Sharma, and Rabichandra Singh Moirangthem will lead the midfield.

Who is the highest goal scorer in hockey in India?

Dhyan Chand of India is the leading international goalscorer in traditional field hockey, having scored 570 goals in 185 international matches. However, Balbir Singh Senior only appeared in 61 games and scored 264 goals during his career.

Who is called magician of hockey?

Major Dhyan Chand, commonly known as the “magician of hockey,” was a legendary Indian field hockey player who is largely recognized as one of the best ever.

Who is the best hockey player in Indian team?

Dhyan Chand is regarded as one of the most inspiring Indian hockey players. He is largely considered one of the finest field hockey players of all time. He won three Olympic gold medals (1928, 1932, and 1936) and was renowned for his outstanding ball control and goal-scoring talents.

Who is known as God of hockey?

Dhyan Chand, known as ‘the magician or the wizard of hockey’, is best known for his unrivaled goal-scoring powers, which stem primarily from his hockey stick skills.

Leave a Comment